Skip to content

RUPES HLR15 and HLR75 iBrid, cordless pair review

Two cordless brushless machines in one kit: one for panels, one with a 75 mm (2.95 in) plate for tight work.

The last word A panel machine and a detail machine, both cordless and brushless. Almost nothing this shelf measures is published for either.

What you are getting

Two cordless polishers: the HLR15 iBrid for large panels, and the HLR75 iBrid Mini with a 12 mm (0.47 in) orbit and a 75 mm (2.95 in) backing plate for contours, body lines and tight areas. Brushless motors with “optimized gear systems”, lithium-ion batteries with LED indicators and fast charging, and balanced bodies with multiple grip positions. $1,074.99.

The 75 mm (2.95 in) machine is the only small-plate polisher on this shelf

MachinePlate
RUPES Mille150 mm (5.91 in) and 125 mm (4.92 in)
Griot’s G9152 mm (5.98 in), 127 mm (5 in) optional
Einhell · Menzerna, published125 mm (4.92 in)
HLR75 iBrid, in this kit75 mm (2.95 in)
BATOCA ×2 · Chemical Guysnot published

Seventy-five millimeters is a three-inch plate, and it exists for the parts of a car a 125 or 150 mm machine physically cannot reach: A-pillars, mirror caps, the area inside a wheel arch lip, bumper corners, the channel beside a windscreen.

This site’s polishing pads shelf carries 3-inch pads for exactly that work, and notes that those small areas are “the places where most of a car’s swirl marks actually are, because they are the places a sponge gets dragged across”.

The need card on this shelf ranks machines on backing plate, largest first — “the difference is counted in tens of minutes” on a bonnet — which is the right ranking for a panel machine and the wrong one for this half of the kit. The kit answers it by containing both.

Twelve millimeters on the small machine, which is an unusual pairing

The introduction’s scale: “around 8 mm (0.31 in) is precise and slow to correct, 15 mm (0.59 in) covers panels quickly, 21 mm (0.83 in) is for large flat surfaces.”

Twelve millimeters on a 75 mm plate is a big throw on a small pad — the eccentric circle is a sixth of the plate diameter, where a 9 mm throw on a 152 mm plate is a seventeenth. That is a machine built to correct quickly in a small area rather than to be gentle in one.

RUPES says as much: the HLR75’s “12mm (0.47 in) orbit and 75mm (2.95 in) backing plate provide precise control on contours, body lines, and tight areas”.

What is not published is the throw of the HLR15 — the machine that does the panels, and the one in the kit’s own name. On the five things this shelf compares, the larger of the two machines publishes none.

Brushless and cordless, which two machines on this shelf are

“Engineered with high-performance brushless motor technology and optimized gear systems.”

MachineMotorPower
This kitbrushlesscordless
Einhell, publishedbrushlesscordless
BATOCA S3not statedcordless
BATOCA 15 mm (0.59 in)carbon brushcorded
Griot’s G9 · Menzerna · Chemical Guys · RUPES Millenot statedcorded

Cordless matters more on a polisher than on most tools, because the thing being dragged across a wet panel is the cable. The published Einhell page puts it directly: “no cable to drag across a wet panel, and no socket needed.”

The cost is runtime, and the published Einhell page states that too: “runtime on a polishing job is measured in a battery or two.” RUPES answers with “dependable runtime”, LED indicators and fast charging — three phrases and no figures: no battery capacity, no voltage, no runtime, no charge time is published anywhere in this listing.

And almost nothing else this shelf measures is published either

The introduction: “We compare throw, drive type, plate size, stated power and speed range.”

CriterionPublished here
Throw12 mm (0.47 in), HLR75 only
Drive typerandom orbital, implied
Plate size75 mm (2.95 in), HLR75 only
Stated powernone
Speed rangenone

Two and a half out of five, on the most expensive item on this shelf. The Griot’s G9 at $176.99 publishes all five.

What this listing sells instead is a system: two machines that share a battery platform and cover the whole car between them, from a maker whose compounds and pads are the reference in this trade. That is a professional argument and a real one. It is not a specification.

Ergonomics, published as four claims

“Balanced designs, multiple grip positions, and ergonomic controls improve handling, reduce fatigue, and enhance comfort during extended polishing sessions.”

Multiple grip positions is the substantive one: a polisher held by the body for a bonnet and by a side handle for a sill is two different tools, and a machine that offers both is used correctly in more places.

No weight is published for either machine, which on a fatigue claim is the figure that would settle it — the published Menzerna machine states 2.8 kg and the BATOCA S3 on this shelf 3 lb.

What is not published

No power in watts or volts. No speed range for either machine. No orbit throw for the HLR15, the larger of the two. No battery capacity, runtime or charge time. No weight. No plate size for the HLR15. No pads or compounds stated as included, where the RUPES Mille kit on this shelf lists eighteen items. No warranty term.

At $1,074.99 it is the most expensive item on this shelf, the only cordless pair, and the listing that leaves the most to the brand.

Availability

On sale at around $1075 on the American Amazon store at the time of checking.

Prices and availability are what Keepa reported on the date this page was updated; both move.

Prices quoted in this text were read on 6 October 2026. The live price is at the top of the page.

What it does, and what it misses

Strengths

  • The only 75 mm (2.95 in) machine here, for pillars, mirrors and bumper corners
  • Two machines covering panels and detail on one battery platform
  • Brushless and cordless, so no cable crosses a wet panel
  • Multiple grip positions, which makes one machine work on a sill and a bonnet

Compromises

  • Publishes neither throw nor plate size for the larger of its two machines
  • No power, no speed range, no runtime, no charge time, no weight
  • $1,074.99, where a machine publishing all five criteria here costs $176.99
  • Cordless runtime on a full car is measured in batteries, and none is stated

Specifications

MachinesTwo — HLR15 iBrid for panels, HLR75 iBrid Mini for detail
HLR75 orbit12 mm (0.47 in)
HLR75 plate75 mm (2.95 in) — the smallest on this shelf
MotorsBrushless, with optimized gear systems
Power sourceCordless, lithium-ion
BatteryLED indicators and fast charging; capacity NOT PUBLISHED
ErgonomicsBalanced bodies, multiple grip positions
Price$1,074.99 — the most expensive item on this shelf
HLR15 orbit and plateNOT PUBLISHED
Power and speed rangeNOT PUBLISHED
Runtime and charge timeNOT PUBLISHED
WeightNOT PUBLISHED
Amazon referenceB0DHDHB115
EAN0850056581561

The questions that reach us

What is a 75 mm (2.95 in) machine for?

The places a 125 or 150 mm (5.91 in) plate cannot physically reach — A-pillars, mirror caps, inside a wheel arch lip, bumper corners, the channel beside a windscreen. This site’s polishing pads shelf carries 3-inch pads for the same work and notes those are "the places where most of a car’s swirl marks actually are". It is the only small-plate machine on this shelf.

How long do the batteries last?

RUPES does not say. The listing offers "dependable runtime", LED indicators and fast charging — and publishes no capacity, no voltage, no runtime and no charge time. The published Einhell cordless machine on this shelf is blunt about the category: "runtime on a polishing job is measured in a battery or two."

Does it publish what this shelf compares?

Two and a half of five. The shelf compares throw, drive type, plate size, stated power and speed range — this gives a 12 mm (0.47 in) throw and a 75 mm (2.95 in) plate for the small machine only, and nothing at all for the HLR15, the power or the speed. The Griot’s G9 at $176.99 publishes all five. What this listing sells instead is a two-machine system from a maker whose pads and compounds set the reference.

This one’s price among garage tools

Details checked on October 6, 2026.

Who should pick this one, among garage tools

A professional covering whole cars, where the small machine earns its place

Sources

Specifications: the manufacturer sheet for garage tools and the matching Amazon product page. Prices and availability: Keepa. Every figure on this page names its source.

The method applied to these garage tools