The only kit here that can finish its own procedure
Boulder Tools BT4001, 30 plugs
A 30-plug kit whose case includes a pressure gauge, pliers and valve cores, which no other kit here supplies.
What you are getting
30 self-vulcanizing plugs, a steel T-handle insertion tool and a spiral probe tool, a tire pressure gauge, pliers, a utility knife, a valve core tool, replacement valve cores, valve caps, valve extenders, lubricant and Allen keys, in a molded storage case. 305 × 203 × 57 mm. 1,179 g. $34.99.
It is the only kit here that can complete the repair it describes
This site’s own guidance for the shelf asks a question and answers it flatly: “Should it be re-inflated afterwards? Absolutely, to the specified pressure, then checked cold the next day. A residual leak shows up at that check.”
A plug kit without a gauge cannot do that. You can plug the tire and you cannot know what pressure you plugged it to, which is the one number that tells you whether the plug held overnight.
Of the six plug kits in this survey, this is the only one that includes a pressure gauge. The CKAuto, AUTOWN, Wykodra and both TOURGUARD kits supply valve cores and caps and no gauge.
That is not a small inclusion on a tool whose purpose is to get a car moving at the roadside, where the next gauge is wherever the next petrol station is.
And the only one with pliers and valve extenders
“COMPLETE TIRE REPAIR KIT – Includes 30 self-vulcanizing tire plugs, T-handle insertion tool, spiral probe tool, tire pressure gauge, pliers, utility knife, valve core tool, replacement valve cores, valve caps, valve extenders, lubricant and Allen keys.”
The pliers are for the nail. The shelf’s own guidance: “Should the foreign body be removed? Yes, before inserting the plug, marking the hole precisely first. A nail left in place prevents any seal.” A screw head flush with the tread does not come out with fingers.
The valve extenders are for a wheel whose valve sits deep inside the rim — the same problem the tire pressure gauges shelf solves with an angled chuck.
Thirty plugs, stated as plugs rather than as pieces
This is the figure to read against the piece counts on this shelf, because they are not the same measurement.
| Kit | Headline figure | Plugs actually stated |
|---|
| TOURGUARD 17 pcs | 17 pieces | 5 |
| TOURGUARD 31 pcs | 31 pieces | not stated |
| Wykodra | 36 pieces | not stated |
| CKAuto | 36 pieces | 20 |
| AUTOWN | 68 pieces | not stated |
| This kit | 30 plugs | 30 |
A “piece” counts a valve cap. The need card on this shelf ranks kits on Pieces, highest first — which puts a kit with four caps and four cores above one with thirty plugs. Boulder Tools publishes no total piece count at all and states the number that matters.
Self-vulcanizing is the plug type: the strip carries its own bonding compound rather than relying on a separate cement that can dry out in a hot boot. That is the other half of the shelf’s second need card, “Still working in two years” — and no kit on this shelf publishes an expiry date, this one included.
The heaviest kit of the six, and one of two with published dimensions
1,179 g and 305 × 203 × 57 mm, which is a flat case that lies under a boot floor.
Only two of the six kits publish a weight at all: this and the AUTOWN at 630 g (22.2 oz). None of the others publishes either figure, so a buyer comparing boot space has two numbers out of six.
What it does not claim, which is the part to notice
There is no “60 seconds”, no “no professional skill required” and no promise about what the repair is.
The Wykodra says a beginner finishes in a minute; the CKAuto says “professional repair without professional skill required”. Boulder Tools says “dependable roadside, workshop and off-road repairs” and leaves it there.
That matters because of what the shelf says about all of them: “A plug is a temporary repair, valid for a tread puncture within the central area, never for a sidewall or shoulder.” A kit that promises speed is not promising a repair, and none of these six can be — only the vulcanizing press in this survey does the kind of repair the shelf calls durable.
What is not published
No plug diameter and no reamer diameter, where the shelf’s introduction says “a proper spiral reamer and a forked insertion needle make the difference between a repair and a bigger hole” — not one kit on this shelf publishes either figure. No expiry date for the plugs. No gauge accuracy for the gauge included, which the tire pressure gauges shelf treats as the only comparable figure on a gauge. No steel grade. No warranty term.
At $34.99 it is the most expensive of the six kits and the only one that includes what its own procedure needs.
Availability
On sale at around $35 on the American Amazon store at the time of checking.
Prices and availability are what Keepa reported on the date this page was updated; both move.
Prices quoted in this text were read on 6 October 2026. The live price is at the top of the page.